ASTRO   |   RT Answers

ROI names inaugural Board of Trustees

Fairfax, Va., August 12, 2009 - The Radiation Oncology Institute (ROI) has named its first Board of Trustees. The ROI Board is made up of 11 members, including the Immediate Past Chair and President-elect of the Board of Directors for the American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO), six radiation oncologists at  large and three public trustee seats. The ASTRO CEO will serve as an ex-officio nonvoting member.

Leading the Board as President is Theodore S. Lawrence, M.D., Ph.D., FASTRO, from the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor, and Vice-president, Colleen A. Lawton, M.D., FASTRO, from the Medical College of Wisconsin in Milwaukee.

The following radiation oncologists were named for the Trustee at Large seats:

  • Theodore S. Lawrence, M.D., Ph.D., FASTRO
  • Colleen A. Lawton, M.D., FASTRO 
  • Deborah Kuban, M.D., FASTRO, from M.D. Anderson Cancer Center in Houston
  • Christopher M. Rose, M.D., FASTRO, from Valley Radiotherapy Associates Medical Group in Los Angeles
  • Carl Bogardus Jr, M.D., FASTRO, from the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center in Oklahoma City, Okla.
  • Louis B. Harrison, M.D., FASTRO, from Beth Israel Medical Center-Continuum Cancer Centers in New York

The following were approved for the Public Trustee seats:

  • Timothy E. Guertin of Palo Alto, Calif.
  • Joe Jachinowski of Norcross, Ga.
  • J. Frank Wilson, M.D., FASTRO, from the Medical College of Wisconsin in Milwaukee, representing the del Regato Foundation

The ASTRO representatives are:

  • Louis B. Harrison, M.D., FASTRO, ASTRO Immediate Past Chair, from Beth Israel Medical  Center-Continuum Cancer Centers in New York
  • Anthony Zietman, M.D., ASTRO President-elect, from Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston
  • Laura Thevenot, ASTRO CEO

ROI was established in 2006 to promote the critical role of the radiation oncologist in the world cancer community by supporting research and education on the life saving and quality of life benefits of radiation therapy. The initial goal was to raise enough funds to ensure the infrastructure and permanence of ROI. The ASTRO Board of Directors acted as the board of ROI during its initial fundraising efforts. In 2009, ROI met its goal for establishing enough funds to create its own Board of Trustees. During the June 2009 ASTRO Board of Directors meeting, the ASTRO board voted on a ROI board governance structure, bylaws and selected the first board.

The Radiation Oncology Institute (ROI) is a non-profit, 501 (c)(3) foundation created in 2006 by the American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO) Board of Directors to support research and education efforts around the world that enhance and confirm the critical role of radiation therapy in improving cancer treatment. ROI strategically funds research on new and existing radiation therapy treatments to identify links between best practices and improved outcomes, to evaluate the efficacy and cost-benefit of radiation therapy and to foster multi-institutional research in radiation oncology. The ROI recently launched the National Radiation Oncology Registry (NROR) pilot program to collect standardized information about patient care to help inform quality improvement initiatives and provide meaningful benchmarks for the radiation oncology field.